All Collections
Sleep FAQ
Sleep phases/score/quality: how are they measured?
Sleep phases/score/quality: how are they measured?
Nat avatar
Written by Nat
Updated over a week ago

While you sleep, you go through a cycle of sleep phases. The first phase is light sleep, followed by deep sleep. A full sleep cycle lasts about 90 minutes and is normally repeated several times each night. We deduct sleep phases from variation in decibels and sound classification in combination with some applied theory of the science of sleep.

Sleep score/quality factors in BetterSleep:

  1. Sleep regularity (10%)

  2. Sleep debt (45%) - hours slept compared to your goal or 7-8 hours average

  3. Sleep interruptions (30%) - noise detected by the tracker

  4. Deep sleep (4.5%), REM sleep (4.5%), and heavy snoring (4.5%)

Higher scores result from consistent bedtimes, sufficient sleep, and a peaceful environment.

Don't worry about low scores! Focus on feeling refreshed, practicing good sleep hygiene, and improving overall health.

We suggest this article from our blog: Poor Sleep Hygiene: Are you guilty of it?

Still have questions? Send us a message. We're here to help! 😊

Did this answer your question?